Rhyme Report

Published on September 17th, 2015 | by Jameelah "Just Jay" Wilkerson


Fetty Wap set to release self-titled full length debut on September 25

After months of breaking records, winning awards, and climbing to the top of hip-hop, 2015’s breakout multiplatinum superstar Fetty Wap finally releases his self-titled full-length debut, FETTY WAP [RGF/300 Entertainment], in stores and through all digital retailers Friday September 25. The album is available for pre-order in standard and deluxe formats now, unlocking instant grat downloads of “Trap Queen,” “679” [feat. Monty], “My Way” [feat. Monty], “Again,” and “RGF Island.”

Hot on the heels of his MTV VMA win for “Artist to Watch,” he just received a staggering 6 BET Hip-Hop Award nominations. These include “Best Hip-Hop Video,” “Best Collabo, Duo or Group,” “Track of the Year,” “Who Blew Up Award,” “Best Club Banger,” and “People’s Champ Award.” Tune into the ceremony airing October 13 on BET.

Almost everywhere you look, you see Fetty. He just returned to NBC’s The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon for his second appearance on the show in less than six months. He turned up with a striking rendition of “679” [feat. Monty] with The Roots. On September 24, he hits the couch at The Wendy Williams Show for an interview and performance. Next up, “679” will soundtrack an upcoming episode of Fox’s hit show Empire. And in case you missed it, Rolling Stone recently did an in-depth profile entitled, “Remy to Rumble: Fetty Wap And His Crew Conquer America.”

In between his support slot on Chris Brown’s One Hell of a Nite Tour, he ignited crowds at The Billboard Hot 100 Music Festival. He’s also heading across the pond for the first time, lining up dates in the UK and beyond. Domestic and international dates to be announced soon- for regularly updated information please visit his official site.

Beyond the inescapable “Trap Queen,” “679,” “My Way,” and “Again,” Fetty goes deep on the album. “D.A.M.” sees him rap and sing over big, cinematic production, dropping a mesmerizinghook in the center. Meanwhile, “Couple Bands” shows another side of Fetty via its subtle jazz swing. The refrain solidifies it as an infectious banger, but throughout the song he gets lyrically introspective singing, “A couple bands on my left and my right side. I’m just riding through the city. I don’t even know if I’m livin’ this life right, but I gotta go and get it.” It’s a subject the world hasn’t heard him cover until now, and he still owns it just as confidently. Then, there’s the bonus track “Whateva” [feat. Monty]. With its stripped resounding piano, it’s an honest and powerful conclusion, boasting truly heartfelt bars and a big hook. FETTY WAP is the embodiment of the unstoppable trailblazer.

Within just a year, Fetty unleashed not one but four consecutive smashes. “Trap Queen” would go triple-platinum, followed by the gold “My Way” [feat. Monty] and platinum “679” [feat. Monty]. Once he released “Again,” he made history as “the first artist ever to simultaneously chart his inaugural four entries in the Top 10 of the Billboard Hot Rap Songs Chart.” Other historic “firsts” include becoming the “first artist since Eminem to land 3 songs in the Top 20 of the Billboard Hot 100” and the “first artist to take 3 spots on the Shazam Global 200 Chart.” At Pandora, he reached over 27 million unique listeners in just 90 days with the “fastest rising number of stations.”

Along the way, he’s performed everywhere from the MTV Movie Awards mashing up “Trap Queen” with Fall Out Boy, BET Awards, The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon with The Roots, and Jimmy Kimmel LIVE! to his hometown school, Eastside High [the real life school portrayed in Lean On Me]—where the mayor of New Jersey presented him the key to the city. Kanye West and Rihanna sing his praises, while Drake “blessed” “My Way” with an official remix. What do Taylor Swift and the Kansas City Royals have in common? Well, they’re part of his massive “pop-cult” following, both using the “Trap Queen” opening line, “1738,” during national interviews. Meanwhile, the pop superstar has performed the song with him live.

It is the Year of Fetty Wap.

Fetty Wap Tracklisting:
1. “Trap Queen”
2. “How We Do Things” [feat. Monty]
3. “679” [feat. Monty]
4. “Jugg” [feat. Monty]
5. “Trap Luv”
6. “I Wonder”
7. “Again”
8. “My Way” [feat. Monty]
9. “Time” [feat. Monty]
10. “Boomin”
11. “RGF Island”
12. “D.A.M.”
13. “No Days Off” [feat. Monty]
14. “I’m Straight”
15. “Couple Bands”
16. “Rock My Chain” [feat. M80]
17. “Rewind” [feat. Monty]

18. “Let It Bang”
19. “For My Team” [feat. Monty]
20. “Whateva” [feat. Monty]

About the Author

Publisher and CEO of The Hype Magazine. Follow me on Twitter @HypeJustJay

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑