Scarface Gears Up For The Release Of His New Album, Deeply Rooted The Hype Magazine: Unveiling the Pulse of Urban Culture - From Hip Hop to Hollywood! Explore a Diverse Tapestry of Stories, Interviews, and Impactful Editorials Spanning Fashion, Gaming, Movies, MMA, EDM, Rock, and Beyond! - The Hype Magazine The Hype Magazine - News From Hip Hop To Hollywood!

Rhyme Report

Published on September 8th, 2015 | by Jameelah "Just Jay" Wilkerson


Scarface Gears Up For The Release Of His New Album, Deeply Rooted


On the eve of the release of his 12th studio album, Deeply Rooted, Hip-Hop pioneer Scarface delivers a visual for the album’s third offering, “Mental Exorcism,” that at once captures the maturity of the album and pays homage to the many instances that have given rise and strength to the Black Lives Matter movement. “Mental Exorcism” is only available with the Best Buy purchase of the album. Produced by Scarface, Deeply Rooted comes from his own Let’s Talk/BMG label and is released is in stores tomorrow, Friday, September 4th.

The video for “Mental Exorcism” featuring Alex Isley, Ernie Isley’s daughter, finds Scarface lost in thought at his dining room table, as he reflects on the social issues that have affected his own life and that of his family. Throughout the video, Scarface’s image is superimposed with real headlines and video footage – including Eric Garner’s infamous cry for help in his final moments; footage of Sandra Bland’s arrest, as well as a self-recorded vlog; the video of Walter Scott’s final moments before he is shot in the back by a South Carolina police officer; footage of the protests that erupted in Baltimore and Ferguson in the last few months and more. The video also includes photos of George Zimmerman, Darren Wilson and the many other assailants in these cases who have been acquitted of any wrongdoing. Click Here To Watch

“Mental Exorcism” is one of three bonus songs available only on the physical deluxe copy of Deeply Rooted, available exclusively at Best Buy stores across the country. The deluxe edition also includes “I Don’t Know” and “Exit Plan” featuring Akon.

Deeply Rooted, Scarface’s first album in seven years, finds the Houston legend fully assuming his position as an elder statesman in Hip-Hop. “I feel like artists that have been around for a while listen to the music that’s out now and they try to do what everybody else is doing,” he says. “Where I come from, that’s called biting. What I look like biting some 19-year-old’s s**t!” Instead of following the trends of the day, Scarface delivers a body of work full of old-school sensibilities that manages not to sound dated.

As evidenced by the project’s second offering “Steer,” Scarface is unabashedly open, willingly sharing some of his darkest thoughts throughout. The Avant-assisted “Keep It Moving,” for example, finds him addressing both sides of his own infidelity and the two resulting breakups. On songs like “Dope Man Pushin'” and the soon to be fan favorite “Do What I Do,” featuring Nas and Rick Ross, Scarface offers up his own life decisions as a cautionary tale to younger listeners, highlighting the fact that he’s been in their position too.

Though visiting familiar topics on Deeply Rooted, Scarface reminds us on every track why he remains one of Hip-Hop’s most celebrated lyricists, his creativity and laid-back style continuing to set him apart. The project is as complex as he has shown himself to be as an artist. It is the balance between the ode to self-assured rebellion of “F**k You Too” and the uplifting, Gospel-inspired “All Bad.” With support from John Legend, Scarface even examines what it takes to be a higher power in this day and age on “God,”later putting himself in his mother’s shoes on “You” featuring CeeLo Green.

Deeply Rooted is currently available for pre-order on iTunes here. The album hits stores and other digital outlets on Friday, September 4th, 2015.

Deeply Rooted Track Listing:

1. Intro
2. Rooted (feat. Papa Reu)
3. The Hot Seat
4. Dope Man Pushin’ (feat. Papa Reu)
5. F**k You Too (feat. ZRo)
6. Steer (feat. Rush Davis)
7. Anything
8. Do What I Do (feat. Nas & Rick Ross)
9. God (feat. John Legend)
10. Keep It Movin’ (feat. Avant)
11. You (feat. CeeLo Greene)
12. All Bad
13. Voices
14. No Problem
15. Outro

About the Author

Publisher and CEO of The Hype Magazine. Follow me on Twitter @HypeJustJay

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑