Music Reviews

Published on March 29th, 2016 | by Dr. Jerry Doby


Review: Lil Kim ‘Lil Kim Season’ mixtape

I have to say I was a bit surprised by the sonics of Lil Kim’s new offering Lil Kim Season, I was expecting the grittiness I so prize in her joints. Pleasantly, she rocks with some alternating timbre and explores some of the sounds prevalent today.

While I’m happy to see the Queen Bee stay on the scene and show the youngsters that Hip-Hop’s legendary creatives, aren’t intimidated by anything they are doing, there is ONE THING she should do…when adding singing to the mix…technical prep is imperative. The music world is watching and she’s set the bar so high, the Queen has to use the resources out there to get her voice straight.

The biggest positive for music, is that Lil Kim is showing an interest in it again. As with any elite athlete, she’s warming up with this mixtape and undoubtedly the upcoming full-length project is going to be extra special.

Overall Rating: 3/5, the warm up is cool but, I’m looking forward to actual game time.

1. Fontainebleau
2. Cut It Feat. TLz
3. Blow A Check Ft. Puffy Zoey Dollars
4. Summer Sixteen (BeeMix)
5. Diego
6. Work Feat. (BeeMix)
7. MINE Feat. Kevin Gates
8. Did It For Brooklyn Ft. Maino
9. PANDA Ft. TLzMaino Young Dash
10. I’m Dat Bitch

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Editor-in-Chief of The Hype Magazine, Media and SEO Consultant, Journalist, Ph.D. and retired combat vet. 2023 recipient of The President's Lifetime Achievement Award. Partner at THM Media Group. Member of the U.S. Department of Arts and Culture, the United States Press Agency and ForbesBLK.

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑