Rhyme Report

Published on June 18th, 2016 | by Jameelah "Just Jay" Wilkerson


Prinze George – “Illiterate Synth Pop” | Debut Album Out 8.5 via Sounds Expensive

In February of 2015, Prinze George started travelling to Minneapolis, MN to record Illiterate Synth Pop with Evan Bakke (Prince, Fraea, Soul Asylum) at Sounds Expensive Studio. They kept coming back in between tours with Albert Hammond Jr., Little Boots, Walk the Moon and more, and finished recording in early 2016. Today, Prinze George is excited to announce that their debut album will be released on August 5th.

Prinze George is Kenny Grimm (production/instrumental), Naomi Almquist (vocals) and Isabelle De Leon (drums), who are based in Maryland. Kenny and Naomi grew up together in Prince George’s County, where they met Isabelle while she was in college. Formed in 2013, Prinze George has quickly exploded onto the Indie scene. Following the release of their breakthrough single, “Victor,” The Wild Honey Pie declared, “[This band] could be destined for Indie Pop royalty status.” Climbing to #1 on the Hype Machine charts, the single and the band have won the attention of music blogs, fans and labels from all over the world. “Victor” was also selected for the movie soundtrack of Warner Bros.’ biggest European release in 2014, “Honig Im Kopf,” a film directed by Til Schweiger.

“Illiterate Synth Pop is a panorama of the people we grew up with and the places we’ve travelled to with them; both inside and outside of our home. Coming of age, Love, loneliness, and feeling stuck are frequent themes. This collection of songs is a great reflection of who we are,” explains Naomi. “Making the album in Minneapolis was a tremendous experience because we were immersed in a beautiful creative space that allowed us the freedom to work and play at our own pace. We were also surrounded by people who are focused and professional but also playful and free, which is imperative for our creative process. If making a record is just business as per usual, it affects the music; so we were lucky to get it all.”

WATCH : ‘Illiterate Synth Pop’ Teaser:

7/23 – New York, NY – Panorama Festival
8/4 – Boston, MA – Cafe 939
8/5 – Buffalo, NY – Leopard Lounge
8/6 – Toronto, ONT – Rivoli
8/8 – Cleveland Heights, OH – Grog Shop
8/9 – Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle
8/10 – Minneapolis, MN – 7th St. Entry
8/12 – Eau Claire, WI – Eaux Claires
8/15 – Columbus, OH – The Basement
8/16 – Pittsburgh, PA – Club Cafe
8/17 – Philadelphia, PA – Johnny Brenda’s
8/20 – Washington, DC – Rock&Roll Hotel
10/2 – Austin, TX – ACL Festival

‘Illiterate Synth Pop’ – TRACKLISTING
1. Move It
2. Kisses
3. Freeze
4. Wait Up
5. Make Me
6. This Time
7. Angels
8. The Water Main
9. Gonna Get You Out
10. Lights Burn Out

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑