Authors, Film & TV Aesop Rock by Ben Colen

Published on August 16th, 2017 | by Jerry Doby


Lakeshore Records Set To Release Aesop Rock’s Original Film Score


RLJ Entertainment Will Release Film Theatrically And On VOD August 25th

Aesop Rock Performs Special Williamsburg Show August 23rd

Lakeshore Records will release underground hip hop pioneer Aesop Rock’s original score to the forthcoming film Bushwick.  His first ever film score, Bushwick-Original Motion Picture Soundtrack is a mind-bending collection of instrumental tracks providing an exhilarating beat-heavy backdrop to the Cary Murnion and Jonathan Milott directed thriller.  Produced by Aesop Rock, the tracks also feature contributions on synth and guitar by Grimace Foundation.  The film tells the story of twenty-year-old Lucy (Brittany Snow), who emerges from a Brooklyn subway to find that her neighborhood is under attack by black-clad military soldiers. An ex-Marine corpsman, Stupe (Dave Bautista), reluctantly helps her fight for survival through a civil war, as Texas attempts to secede from the United States of America. Lakeshore Records will release Bushwick—Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally August 11,th CD September 1stand on vinyl at a later date.  RLJ Entertainment will release Bushwick in theaters and on VOD August 25th. ­­­­

Crave Online premiered “Corner Store”: ­­­­­

Aesop will perform a special concert coincide with the film premiere and soundtrack release—details below.

Building on the rapping style of eccentrics Kool Keith and Del the Funky Homosapien, Aesop Rock (AKA Ian Bavitz) became one of the hottest MCs in the post-millennial underground. With seven albums, five Eps, production credits and appearances in film and television, Aesop has made an indelible cultural impression since the late ‘90’s.  In early 2007 Aesop Rock composed a 45-minute piece for Nike’s Original Run series, a continuous track meant to be listened to while jogging (other artists included LCD Soundsystem and the Crystal Method).  Album releases include his 1997 indie debut Music for Earthworms, a trio of albums for the Definitive Jux and a shift to the Rhymesayers label who released Skelethon and his most recent album The Impossible Kid.

Aesop Rock by Ben Colen

Says Aesop: “This entire project maintained a pretty smooth momentum from start to finish. This was my first foray into working on a feature film, and this team was helpful the entire way—even in my moments of self-doubt.  I’m extremely excited to have been a part of ‘Bushwick.’”


Track Listing:

1)      Corner Store

2)      Mashed Potatoes

3)      The Church 1

4)      Jaguar

5)      New Yule

6)      The Church 2

7)      Corner Store Reprise

8)      New Yule Reprise

9)      Downstairs

10)   Chesterfield

11)   Raiders

12)   All Fall Down

13)   Riot Riot

14)   Sharks and Minnows

15)   The School

16)   Ogres

17)   Ash

Say Murnion and Milott: “We were beyond excited and amazed to have a chance to work with Aesop Rock on the score for Bushwick! We’ve been fans of his since Music for EarthwormsLabor Days is one of our all time favorite records. Bazooka ToothNone Shall Pass and Skelethon are each so special. And we loved the Hail Mary Mallon project he worked on with Rob Sonic and Big Wiz – (we listened to the instrumentals of Bestiary on repeat while we’ve been prepping to shoot Bushwick). Aesop keeps blowing us away with his dense, next level lyrics but we were equally impressed by the beats and sounds he creates for each new record. Which is why when we were thinking of someone to score Bushwick we immediately thought of asking him if he’d want to work with us on our passion project. Aesop grew up in Long Island and had lived in Bushwick, so he immediately connected to the concept and the characters. He has created a score that sets the tone for the whole film as ‘Corner Store’ kicks in as we fly up over Coney Island in the opening credits. The score is gritty, emotional, unnerving and triumphant, taking us on a journey as we weave through the streets of Brooklyn.

Bushwick is a production of XYZ Films, Bullet Pictures and Mensch Productions.  The film screened at Sundance in January and in Director’s Fortnight at Cannes in May.

Aesop will perform a special concert at The Music Hall of Williamsburg on August 23rd alongside Rob Sonic and DJ Zone to coincide with the film premiere and soundtrack release.

Tickets available via

For more info on Aesop Rock:







Tags: , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Editor-in-Chief of The Hype Magazine, and internationally published arts & entertainment journalist. Member of the U.S. Department of Arts and Culture as well as the United States Press Corps.

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑