Rhyme Report

Published on July 16th, 2018 | by Guest Editor


Cleveland’s Rising Rapper DubXX Drops New Album Tsunami Out Now via WAV Recordings

Photo Credit: Justin Wilson


Rising rapper DubXX redefines Cleveland hip-hop on his new album Tsunami, proving that the artist/producer/songwriter has reinvented himself yet again with a new sound and flow that reestablishes Ohio state as one to watch for multifaceted, emerging talent. The album is the first release from WAV Recordings, the artist incubator label and management company launched by WAV Media (the hot new app that Kanye partnered w/ to exclusively livestream ‘Ye’ & ‘Kids See Ghosts’ release parties).

Tsunami includes his hit single “Flex” that was featured on Ethika’s ‘RBG 2’ mixtape in March, along with a handful of other bangers that showcase DubXX’s lyrical grace, head-knocking beats and Cleveland flair.

“Individually, each of the ten tracks bring in a fresh, new wave of sound to the project that when as a collective create this massive wave, a tsunami,”expressed DubXX.

The foundation of DubXX’s creativity and musical development stems from his Cleveland’s Eastside roots where he grew his talents as a producer and hip-hop artists alongside other Cleveland artists, most notably Interscope’s Machin Gun Kelly (MGK). His friendship and which led to the beginning of the EST 19XX movement and Midwest takeover. DubXX has been a key founder of the EST 19XX movement with friend and mentor Machine Gun Kelly. For the past five years, DubXX has been a key part of EST Fest – a two-day music event in Cleveland that showcases both headliners, and up-and-coming artists from the Ohio area. DubXX is set to perform at this year’s festival on August 3-4, 2018.

DubXX collaborated with MGK’s projects as an artist and songwriter and has also released three solo projects titled Do I Know You (2013), Old Lights New Lights (2015), and his recent EP Smoking in Public (2017). After achieving success with EST 19XX Family, DubXX has headlined his own 40-city North American tour in 2014. His latest album Tsunami includes his recent hit single “Flex”, out now via WAV Recordings.

Tsunami Album Track List:

    1. Behind You
    2. On My Top
    3. Too Much
    4. Flex
    5. Yo Side Ft. Jalen Santoy
    6. Ball Ball Ball
    7. Cant Deny It
    8. Tsunami
    9. Not Sorry
    10. Don’t Worry

Tsunami via Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/album/2Si981K0wPZDenAvltPSsF

Tsunami via iTunes/Apple: https://itunes.apple.com/album/id1387148604


WAV Recordings is a space for emerging talent seeking more than what traditional label deals can offer. This is a potential career option for music creators who are a part of the WAV Media community. WAV’s label team and partnership with The Orchard (Sony) ensure that signed artists are seen and heard across all digital, social, and music streaming platforms. WAV Media is a music tech start-up with the mission of empowering music creators through an artist-first commitment. By combining innovated technology with a network of aligned industry partners, labels, and advisors, WAV Media offers real benefits to advance artists on their journey.

WATCH: “Uncovering Dubxx” via WAV – http://www.wav.media/video/13755

For more Info on DubXX:

Website | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | Soundcloud

About the Author

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑