Live Sessions

Published on February 18th, 2019 | by Jerry Doby


Introducing ‘Behind The Groove’ Music/Interview Series

Back Story – Behind The Groove boasts a cast which includes Sheldon Reynolds; former member of legendary music group Earth, Wind & Fire; the team interviews musicians, background singers, and producers about the process and stories behind some of music’s greatest hits.

There are various music programs but this one gets behind the hits of the past and present. Watch as the hosts interview the men and women who worked on some of the world’s most famous songs. The audience will not only hear amusing stories but will also be allowed to ask questions. The setting of the program is purposefully intimate so that artists and audience can experience a sense of kinship as they explore their shared love of music.

Who came up with the bass line for Earth, Wind and Fire’s first hit? How was it to work with Prince on “When Doves Cry”? Did Pharell Williams get the hook to “Happy” right away? Or “How long did it take to perfect the “Welcome to the Jungle” intro? These types of questions often go through the minds of fans and music aficionados. On Behind the Groove, the viewers will finally get all those answers plus more.

In our introductory segment, Deej, Fred Bronson and Sydney of Behind The Groove, interview Susaye Greene formerly of the Supremes, on the Wish Bus 107.5 at the 5th Annual Raw Science Film Festival.

WishBus 107.5 TGN: Marketing Simon Cos, Felice Marquez, Ian Corpuz, Charles Manaig, Lalluh Adalla, Januel Areola, Kristorenz Fugaban, C-pen, Marvin Dimal, Roniel Rivera, Mark Malibiran, Kalvin Manaig and Dj Teej

Behind The Groove Team: Sheldon Reynolds, Jesse Moore, Angie Tourner, Chris Siegmund, Michael Lynn, Aljess Bernardo, Kimberly Haas, Marcus Bovee, Diana Kelly, George Sharperson, Ciamara Morales, Ian Murphy, Amelia Johnson, Steve Harris, Haskel Jackson Judith Krug, Rob Bryton, Tony Washington, Marq Hawkins, Susaye Greene, Scherrie Payne, Joyce Vincent, Eric Iversen, Shana May Jackson, Marie Bogacz, Charlo Crossley Fortier, Mary Dysart, Vivion Nguyen, Brenton Earley, Paris Escovedo, Tony Pizarro, Spencer Galbreath, Fred Bronson, Richie Onori, Gary Miller, Chase Morrin, Richard Vogel, Crystal Bauer Feldman, Luke Stafford, (reaction song by: Melodye Perry), Sydney Colston

Sydney Colston poses with his Academy Award

Behind The Groove is presented by Big Dawg Productions helmed by the series’ Executive Producer, Oscar and GRAMMY winner Sydney Colston. Colston shared the Oscar nod as Videographer for the 2014  Academy Award Winning Best Documentary Film “20 FEET FROM STARDOM” which captured two statues that evening. In 2015 “20 Feet From Stardom took home the GRAMMY for Best Music Film.

“20 FEET FROM STARDOM” team poses with their two Academy Awards (Sydney Colston 4th from left)

The Hype Magazine is happy to announce “Behind The Groove” as part of its “Live Sessions” series of interviews each week on our portal and coming soon to our streaming television portal HypeTV. Stay Tuned!

About the Author

Editor-in-Chief of The Hype Magazine, and internationally published arts & entertainment journalist. Member of the U.S. Department of Arts and Culture as well as the United States Press Corps.

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑