Happenings

Published on March 6th, 2017 | by Jerry Doby

0

Rick Ross to host ‘MTV Woodies’ award show at SXSW

MTV is taking South by Southwest by storm this March, with the 13th annual “MTV Woodies” Music Festival LIVE from Austin on Thursday, March 16. Four-time GRAMMY® Award-nominated and multiplatinum, 21st century rap legend, Rick Ross will host and perform. MTV’s emerging artist festival kicks off at 8:00 p.m. ET / 7:00 p.m. CT with the one-hour live telecast beginning at 11:00 p.m. ET / 10:00 p.m. CT.

The “MTV Woodies” is a yearly event that spotlights an eclectic roster of emerging artists across musical genres.  The 2016 line-up boasted Anderson Paak & The Free Nationals, A$AP Ferg, BØRNS, The Chainsmokers, CHVRCHES, Jack Garratt, Jidenna, Kehlani and Lukas Graham.  Past “MTV Woodies” performers include Wiz Khalifa, Twenty One Pilots, Sam Smith, Iggy Azalea, Steve Aoki, Foo Fighters, Odd Future, The 1975, Childish Gambino, Santigold and Mac Miller.

Tags: , , , ,


About the Author

Editor-in-Chief of The Hype Magazine, GRAMMY Member and internationally published arts & entertainment journalist. Member of the U.S. Department of Arts and Culture as well as the United States Press Corps.



Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑