Kevin Gates To Release Anticipated Debut Album "ISLAH" On December 11, 2015 The Hype Magazine: Unveiling the Pulse of Urban Culture - From Hip Hop to Hollywood! Explore a Diverse Tapestry of Stories, Interviews, and Impactful Editorials Spanning Fashion, Gaming, Movies, MMA, EDM, Rock, and Beyond! - The Hype Magazine The Hype Magazine - News From Hip Hop To Hollywood!

Rhyme Report

Published on September 17th, 2015 | by Jameelah "Just Jay" Wilkerson


Kevin Gates To Release Anticipated Debut Album “ISLAH” On December 11, 2015


Bread Winners Association artist Kevin Gates has announced the release of his long awaited debut album “ISLAH,” which is available for pre-order now ( and arrives at last on Friday, December 11th. The album release will follow an upcoming nationwide tour that kicks off November 12th in Orlando, FL. Tickets will go on sale this Friday, September 18 at

Gates chose to name his debut album “ISLAH” after his daughter who shares the same name. “Islah” is an Arabic word usually translated as “reform,” in the sense of “to improve, to better, or to put something into a better position.”

“ISLAH” is available now for pre-order, accompanied by the instant grat downloads, “La Familia” and “The Truth.” Additional instant grat tracks and the album’s track listing will be unveiled in the weeks leading up to the December 11th release.

“La Familia” had its world video premiere earlier this month.

Gates – who recently wrapped the sold out second leg of his massively successful “I Don’t Get Tired (#IDGT) Tour” – will herald “ISLAH” with a major nationwide headline tour that will hit most major U.S. markets including a show at New York City’s Gramercy Theatre on November 21st. (see itinerary below).

Earlier this year Gates was featured alongside Juicy J, Sage the Gemini and Future on a song called “Payback,” one of the hip hop highlights found on “FURIOUS 7: ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK,” Atlantic Records’ chart-topping musical companion to Universal’s blockbuster action-thriller. The album debuted in the #1 position on the SoundScan/Billboard 200 upon its April release, while also triumphing around the globe with gold certified sales in Australia, Hungary, Japan, and the United Kingdom.

At the close of 2014, Gates released the follow-up to his debut mixtape, “LUCA BRASI 2: A GANGSTA GRILLZ SPECIAL EDITION MIXTAPE.” The collection — which marked the latest installment of DJ Drama’s widely respected “GANGSTA GRILLZ” series — includes the phenomenal anthem, “I Don’t Get Tired (#IDGT) (Feat. August Alsina),” which caused a social media commotion upon its release. Gates’ use of the phrase, “I Don’t Get Tired” and the #IDGT hashtag — which represent his relentless hardworking approach to life — was used well over a million times on Instagram alone, with countless placements on other social media platforms.

Named as one of XXL Magazine’s “XXL Freshmen 2014,” Kevin Gates first broke out with 2013’s masterful mixtape, “THE LUCA BRASI STORY.” The set earned the Baton Rouge-based MC both popular success and widespread critical acclaim for his extraordinary emotional power and melodic invention, ultimately leading to a new partnership between Atlantic Records and his own Bread Winners’ Association. In addition, “THE LUCA BRASI STORY” was named by Rolling Stone as one of the “20 Best Hip Hop Albums of 2013.”

“BY ANY MEANS” arrived in March 2014 and immediately affirmed Gates as a major force in hip-hop. The mixtape landed at #3 on Billboard’s “Top Rap Albums” chart at #17 on the overall SoundScan/Billboard 200, with sales nearly doubling his previous first week sales record.

What’s more, “BY ANY MEANS” quickly proved itself to be among the most acclaimed hip-hop releases of 2014. “Easily the most complex, confounding, and fascinating gangster rap record of the year so far,” declared Complex. “Breathtaking,” agreed The Fader. “Lyrically dexterous in the manner of older Southern giants like Bun B and 8Ball,” declared the New York Times, while Rolling Stone raved, “The 28-year-old Baton Rouge, Louisiana, artist raps, sings and harmonizes, often alternating between vocal modes within a verse, exuding a gritty earthiness that sets him apart from contemporary crooners like Future and Rich Homie Quan.” Pitchfork adds, “with ‘BY ANY MEANS,’ (Kevin Gates) completes a three-release run that’s as solid as any in recent memory.” Perhaps Vibe summed it up best: “If there’s one rapper that more people need to be talking about, it’s Kevin Gates.”
For more, please see,,,, and


12 – Orlando, FL – Club 578
13 – Jacksonville, FL – Mavericks
14 – Atlanta, GA – Tabernacle
15 – Nashville, TN – Marathon Music Works
17 – Columbia, SC – Music Farm
18 – Raleigh, NC – Lincoln Theater
19 – Philadelphia, PA – TLA
20 – Boston, MA – Middle East
21 – New York, NY – Gramercy Theatre
22 – Washington DC – The Fillmore
24 – Cleveland, OH – Agora
25 – Louisville, KY – Mercury Ballroom
27 – Detroit, MI – Majestic Theatre
28 – Chicago, IL – Bottom Lounge
29 – St. Louis, MO – Pop’s

01 – Tulsa, OK – Cain’s
02 – Abilene, TX – Abilene Civic Center
03 – Dallas, TX – South Side
04 – Houston, TX – Warehouse Live
05 – San Antonio, TX – Alamo
06 – Austin, TX – Emo’s
08 – Mobile, AL – Soul Kitchen

About the Author

Publisher and CEO of The Hype Magazine. Follow me on Twitter @HypeJustJay

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑