Rhyme Report

Published on October 12th, 2016 | by Dr. Jerry Doby


New Music: ‘THE TIME IS NOW’ compilation album benefitting afAR

“The Time Is Now” — a compilation album created specifically to benefit AmfAR (@amfAR), The Foundation for AIDS Research—has arrived in stores and at all digital retailers via Republic Records and Mass Appeal.

Get it HERE: (https://republic.lnk.to/TheTimeIsNow)

The Time Is Now transports some of music’s biggest stars back to the 1980s and invites listeners to help in the fight to end AIDS. The 14-track collection boasts new ‘80s covers reenvisioned, reinvigorated, and resurrected by everyone from Sugar for Sugar [feat. Scarlett Johansson] and DNCE to Phantogram, Dita Von Teese, and many more.

Since its announcement, The Time Is Now has drummed up overwhelming press enthusiasm and acclaim. Pitchfork, Spin , Stereogum, and many more featured Lower Dens’ take on Hall & Oates’ “Maneater.”

Meanwhile, People exclusively premiered Sugar for Sugar’s soulful and seductive rendition of New Order’s “Bizarre Love Triangle,” going on to claim, “When Scarlett Johansson isn’t busy starring in box-office hits, she’s lending her famously sultry voice to the music industry—and for a good cause.”

The artwork for the album cover was designed exclusively for amfAR by the talented and generous British artist Tracey Emin.

The Time is Now is the brainchild and labor of love of executive producers Michelangelo Lacqua, internationally acclaimed music curator, Andy Boose, longtime producer of many of amfAR’s events, and Peter Bittenbender, CEO of Mass Appeal.

“The 1980s was a decade of revolutionary changes in the music scene, with an explosion of new sounds and rhythms, the ascendance of MTV, and the emergence of new musical movements on both sides of the Atlantic,” said Bittenbender. “Music also provided the soundtrack to people’s daily lives and was a source of inspiration and solace with the advent of HIV/AIDS. This album is a tribute to that extraordinary time,” said Lacqua. “The Time Is Now is a music-driven call to action in support of amfAR’s push to end HIV/AIDS in our lifetime,” said Boose.

Since the beginning of the epidemic, musicians have supported the fight against AIDS in countless ways, raising awareness and funds through benefit concerts, donated royalties and proceeds, and other contributions. Throughout its history, amfAR has enjoyed the steadfast and generous support of the music industry. In 1985, Dionne Warwick, Elton John, Gladys Knight, and Stevie Wonder recorded a collaborative rendition of the song, “That’s What Friends Are For,” to raise money for amfAR. The song was Billboard’s number one single for 1986 and raised millions of dollars for AIDS research.

“The Time Is Now is a great example of our longstanding relationship with the music industry, and we are deeply grateful to the artists who graciously donated their time and talents to the making of this album,” said amfAR Chief Executive Officer Kevin Robert Frost. “With continued support for HIV research, we are confident that we will ultimately find a cure for the millions of people living with HIV/AIDS today.”

To mark the occasion of The Time is Now, Soho House held a multi-city record listening event at Soho Houses in London, New York and Los Angeles on September 8, which included special performances and appearances by the artists featured on the album, including Brazilian Girls, Lower Dens and Theophilus London.



Los Angeles


New York


The full track listing for “The Time Is Now” below:

Get it HERE (https://republic.lnk.to/TheTimeIsNow)

1. “Take Me Home” (Phil Collins), Performer: Phantogram
2. “Bizarre Love Triangle” (New Order), Performer: Sugar for Sugar
3. “Under the Milky Way” (The Church), Performer: Metric
4. “Whip It” (Devo), Performer: Brazilian Girls
5. “Rio” (Duran Duran), Performer: Bebel Gilberto
6. “What’s Love Got to Do With It” (Tina Turner), Performer: DNCE
7. “Billie Jean”(Michael Jackson), Performer: Aloe Blacc
8. “Do You Really Want to Hurt Me” (Culture Club), Performer: Dita Von Teese and Sebastien Tellier
9. “Maneater” (Hall & Oates), Performer: Lower Dens
10. “Genius of Love” (Tom Tom Club), Performer: Chaos Chaos
11. “I Wanna Dance With Somebody (Who Loves Me)” (Whitney Houston), Performer: Marian Hill
12. “Pride (In the Name of Love)” (U2), Performer: LP
13. “Lovesong” (The Cure), Performer: Yuna
14. “Dance Hall Days” (Wang Chung), Performer: Theophilus London

The full track listing for The Time Is Now is:

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Editor-in-Chief of The Hype Magazine, Media and SEO Consultant, Journalist, Ph.D. and retired combat vet. 2023 recipient of The President's Lifetime Achievement Award. Partner at THM Media Group. Member of the U.S. Department of Arts and Culture, the United States Press Agency and ForbesBLK.

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑