Hype Kingdom

Published on July 19th, 2022 | by richvongod


The 53rd Annual GMA Dove Awards 1st Round Ballot Opens!

The Gospel Music Association has started to rapidly ease Christian, Gospel & CCM rap into its fold. We’ve learned the first round ballot has opened and that the rap/hip hop categories have some strong contenders and legends on them. Nashville, Tennessee Jul 15, 2022 – The 53rd Annual GMA Dove Awards first round voting has begun and we have the insight on who’s on the ballot in the hip hop categories. Some notables include Social Club Misfits, Lecrae, Aaron Cole, Derek Minor, 1k Phew, Emcee N.I.C.E., Wande, Indie Tribe, Angie Rose, Tedashii, WhatUpRG, Steven Malcolm, Datin, Hulvey and more.. And some new faces include Battz, Miles Minnick and PTtheGospelSpitter to name a few. Member voting began on July 13, 2022. The GMA Dove Awards have honored outstanding achievements and excellence in Christian and Gospel Music, since 1969 and lately has evolved with times and included Christian Hip Hop, Gospel & CCM Rap. The first round ballot has been released and wow, there are some heavy hitters.

Here are the records from the category of Rap/Hip Hop Song of the Year:

2022 – Battz                                                         In My Head – Sansone

Above Me – Aaron Cole                                     Keep Me Going – Kaash Kade

Ain’t Playin- Steven Malcolm                          Kids – WhatUpRG

Attributes of Mercy – Japhia Life                   King Jesus – KB & nobigdyl.

Bang Christ – Phil the Voice                             Level Up – Kaboose

Be Alright (Remix) – Evan Craft                      Life of the Party – Jon Keith

Blessed to Breathe – Jeremiah Bonds            Lights in The City – Tedashii

Born for This – Cephas                                      Live In Me (ft. Miguel) – PTTheGospelSpitter

Can’t Stop Me – Konata Small, S.O.                Living in Me – Vic Lucas

Can’t Tell It All (Remix) – Hulvey                   Masquerade – Kaboose

Clear – indie tribe                                               Miracle – Aaron Cole

Crack The Tomb – Hulvey                                My Way – Kaboose

Crew Show Up – Adriel Cruz                            Name Above All – Cephas, J. Carter, D-Maub

Deja Vu – Jeremiah Bonds                               OBJ – Tedashii

Die For You – Zauntee                                     On Me – Ty Brasel

Don’t Look Down – Streetlights                      One Step of the Way – Cephas

Don’t Worry Bout It – Wande                          On Me (ft) – Ty Brasel

Evidence – Caleb Gordon                                  Out with a Bang – Adriel Cruz

Fear of Heights – BrvndonP                            Outside – Indie Tribe

Fight Back – Konata                                           Small Paper Planes – Kaboose

God Put Me On – Miles Minnick                      Pull Up On You – Derek Minor / Greg James

Gotta Be God – Lathan Warlick                        Refocus – Raging Moses

Heartless – Xay Hill                                            Revolutionary – Cephas

Holy Smoke! – Indie Tribe Risky                     (remix) – Eddie Clark

Runnin’ with God – YB

RUSH – Kaboose

Save Us – Lecrae & 1K Phew

Scrollin – Torey D’Shaun

SfTK (Remix) (ft. Emcee N.I.C.E. & J-NIBB) – PTtheGospelSpitter

Supernatural – Trip Lee

Take My Crown – Konata Small, S.O., Jered Sanders

Teslar – BigBreeze x Hulvey

Thank You X – Datin

Tomorrow – Kaboose

Unstoppable (Do It Again) [Global Remix] – Angie Rose & Limoblaze

Velour Seats – Raging Moses

W.Y.T. – Miles Minnick x nobigdyl.

We Are Not the Same – Tylerhateslife

Wildin – Lecrae & 1K Phew

Without You – Social Club Misfits

Wrist – Canon

Yeah (ft. Jarrett Burton) – Emcee N.I.C.E.


Here are the Albums from the category of Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year:

America Shall Be Saved – Cephas

COMA – Hulvey

Destiny: Vol. 1 – Ty Brasel

Iron Dove (Act I) [The Blessed Coast] – Emcee N.I.C.E

Less Is More – Mission

Mere Mortals – Cas Metah, Sintax the Terrific & Dj Sean P

No Church In A While – Lecrae & 1K Phew

Outta Line – BrvndonP

S7AVE – Jeremiah Bonds

Stripped – Gabriel Day

Summertime in the VLLG – Jon Keith

The End. – Trip Lee

The Flourishing – Raging Moses

The HIghlight Tapes V.1 – Derek Minor

Two Up, Two Down – Aaron Cole

Unstoppable (United We Can) – Angie Rose

UPPERHAND – indie tribe

We Still Believe – Roy Tosh

We Will Go (The Remixes) – Cephas

The Dove Award is a Christian music industry achievement award presented by the Gospel Music Association that started in 1969. In order to win one a “Dove Award” you had to have the following: Substantially based upon historically
Orthodox Christian truths contained in or derived from the Holy Bible, An expression of worship of God or praise for His works; and/or Testimony of relationship with God through Christ; and/or Obviously prompted and informed by
A Christian worldview. In 1991 the Rap/Hip Hop categories were introduced to the awards with The
Winans; Marvin Winans, Carvin Winans, Teddy Riley, Bernard Bell; Warner Alliance winning the Rap/Hip Hop recorded song of The Year with “It’s Time” and DC Talk’s “NU Thang” winning Rap/Hip Hop Album of The Year. What was once somewhat of an afterthought, Christian Hip Hop and Gospel Rap have progressed and beginning to saturate the mainstream. Not only has Award shows like the Dove Awards and the Stellars taken notice, they are now starting to incorporate the genre into its prime time programming. BDSRadio|Luminate formerly BDSRadio|MRC|Neilsen has created its first “Internet Radio Christian Hip Hop Chart ” with stations like God’s House of Hip Hop Radio Powered by Dash Radio curated by Emcee N.I.C.E. Becoming the first faith based hip hop station to win a Stellar Award, Indie One Radio with Jay Williams, Holy Culture on SiriusXM with Trig, SoFlow Radio with Chris Chicago all carving lanes for Christian Hip Hop, Latin Christian Hip Hop and Gospel Rap Music. Even though only 5 artists will move past the first round in each category, all of them should be celebrated for continuing their drive to further the relevancy of Christian Hip Hop, Latin Christian Hip Hop and Gospel Rap to the world while keeping their faith intact.
The GMA Dove Awards will be held in Nashville, Tennessee on October 18, 2022. For more information, visit https://doveawards.com/.






Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑