Issue #102 – Digital Cover

Published on February 2nd, 2017 | by Dr. Jerry Doby


Live Session: Atlanta’s Matt Citron debut album ‘Final Moments Of Forever’

Atlanta‘s Matt Citron (@mattcitronmtz) excited that debut album ‘Final Moments Of Forever’ (Sony Music Entertainment) passes one million streams on Spotify. Announces video challenge for fans, prizes included swag and concert tickets.

Matt Citron

Matt’s debut project, Final Moments Of Forever only dropped on December 16th and includes features from CyHi The Prince (featured on Kanye West’s My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy and Cruel Summer), Money Makin’ Nique and Kiya Lacey. The projects’ first single, “Save My Soul,” took off like a rocket and led the way for a great reception for the anticipated project.

NOW the young lion has surpassed over one million plays of his project on Spotify and with the overwhelmingly positive reception of Final Moments Of Forever from the industry and fans, the “Tabasco Flows” rapper signals he’s ready to take on the mantle for Hip Hop. Sealing the deal is getting shouts from the likes of Greg Street, Jim Jones and Busta Rhymes for his work…it’s a wrap!


Matt is a lyrical-beast. With a co-sign from the legendary DJ Greg Street, it isn’t hard to tell that Matt doesn’t subscribe to the same trap aesthetic familiar to Atlanta. Matt worked tirelessly perfecting his craft and gaining a following. Matt unleashed “404” and “Stay Down” in September, both on the project, as well as an “Election Day” freestyle at the top of November – all showcasing his ferocious, lyrical chops.

Although the 22-year-old hails from the east side of Atlanta, he doesn’t necessarily look the part. Since childhood, hip-hop was always summoning Matt, although his first love was basketball. With Atlanta hoops and hip-hop so intertwined, he developed a strong affinity for native rap champs like OutKast, T.I. and Ludacris, and freestyling became an everyday activity. By his sophomore year of college, it was becoming clear that Matt’s passion for punchlines had grown exponentially greater than his obsession with jumpshots. In 2016, Matt gained momentum on tour with Xavier Wulf, while gearing up to drop his debut project; Matt is poised to become Atlanta’s next superstar.

In between touring and gathering his energy for his album release, The Hype Magazine got up with Matt for a “Live Session” conversation to discuss the new project (pre-release) and his plans for 2017…tune in

Final Moments Of Forever Tracklist:

1. Save My Soul
2. One Time
3. 404 (ft. CyHi The Prynce & Money Makin Nique)
4. Never Worried
5. All That I Need (ft. Kiya Lacey)
6. Stay Down <<< Editor’s Pick
7. Shallow Waters
8. Dancing Bones
9. Too Long
10. Reflections Pt. 3


Tags: , , , , ,

About the Author

Editor-in-Chief of The Hype Magazine, Media and SEO Consultant, Journalist, Ph.D. and retired combat vet. 2023 recipient of The President's Lifetime Achievement Award. Partner at THM Media Group. Member of the U.S. Department of Arts and Culture, the United States Press Agency and ForbesBLK.

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑