Music Lounge

Published on September 20th, 2023 | by Just Jay


Sexyy Red – Looking For The H*es (Ain’t My Fault)

The “Pound Town” Hitmaker “Makes Them H*es Mad” in the Latest Video from Her Critically Acclaimed Hood Hottest Princess Project

Courting controversy and winning fans with her brash confidence and X-rated punchlines, Sexyy Red is taking over the game. Returning with the latest party-positive video from her acclaimed tape Hood Hottest PrincessSexyy continues her run with Looking For The H*es (Ain’t My Fault).” A disrespectful banger in the Southern rap tradition–complete with a lyrical reference to a Silkk Da Shocker classic–”Looking For The H*es” is an unapologetic ode to baddies who are unafraid to steal a man from under their girlfriend’s noses: “Shake that ass, b*tch, make them h*es mad/Show me how you f*ck her baby dad,” spits Sexyy. In the video, the St. Louis native hosts a hedonistic house party, as she and a couple dozen of her closest friends strut their stuff and dare the haters to do something about it. “Looking For The H*oes” arrives in the wake of the video for SkeeYee” (Prod. by Tay Keith), which has over 2.2 million views to date.


“Looking For The H*es (Ain’t My Fault)” arrives as Sexyy Red continues the rise to stardom that started with “Pound Town,” the viral anthem of the summer. The Tay Keith-produced song has over 15 million on-demand streams since its release, and has spent months on Spotify’s U.S. Viral 50 chart, reaching the #1 spot multiple times. Originally released in January, “Pound Town” picked up steam in the subsequent months thanks to the viral #PoundTownChallenge, which helped the song generate over 200k video creations on TikTok. A coterie of high-profile fans tapped in and quoted their favorite lyrics, including Cardi BSummer WalkerGloRillaJT of City GirlsRico Nasty, and TiaCorine. When the Queen herself, Nicki Minaj, hopped on the remix, the song reached another level–Pound Town 2” spent three weeks on the Billboard Hot 100 with a peak at #66. Last weekend, Sexyy caused a stir at the BET Awards when she led the audience in a “Pound Town” sing-along from her seat. Together, versions of “Pound Town” have racked up nearly 50 million global streams.

“Looking For The H*es” and “Pound Town 2” are highlights from Hood Hottest Princess, Sexyy Red’s new mixtape. A relentless barrage of twerkable anthems, Hood’s Hottest Princess builds upon Sexyy’s brash and unapologetic persona. Songs like “I’m The Sh*t,” “Sexyy Walk,” and Female Gucci Mane exude an irrepressible bad b*tch energy, combining Sexyy’s crisp wordplay with an addictive drawling delivery that has become her signature. The mixtape earned a sterling 8.0 review from Pitchfork, who wrote that the mixtape “sets the tone for what she hopes is the nastiest, sweatiest, and freakiest summer since the smartphone came along” and “…30 minutes of straight-up standing-on-the-table raps. There are a handful of songs on here that are bound to be summertime anthems.” Featuring an additional appearance from Juicy J on “Strictly For The Strippers” and Sukihana on the Pitchfork-approved Born By The River,” Hood Hottest Princess is available everywhere via Open Shift/gamma.

With Hood Hottest Princess out now and a burgeoning fanbase that can’t get enough of her hits, the rising rapper is preparing for a Sexyy Red Summer. Get on board now, before the ship blasts off.

Watch “Looking For The H*es (Ain’t My Fault)”:

Stream Hood Hottest Princess

Listen to “Pound Town” (Remix) ft. Nicki Minaj & Tay Keith:

Watch “Pound Town”: official video | live video | “Spring Break” video

Hood’s Hottest Princess tracklist:

1.     I’m The Sh*t

2.     SkeeYee

3.     Hellcats SRTs

4.     Pound Town 2 ft. Nicki Minaj & Tay Keith

5.     Looking For The Hoes (Ain’t My Fault)

6.     Sexyy Walk

7.     Strictly For The Strippers ft. Juicy J

8.     Nachos

9.     Mad At Me

10.  Born By The River ft. Sukihana

11.  Female Gucci Mane

The Background:

Born and raised in St. Louis, Sexyy Red is one of the hottest rising stars in rap today. Her explicitly quotable hit “Pound Town” has been steadily rising up charts, and she’s earned co-signs from the likes of Cardi B, Summer Walker, GloRilla, JT of City Girls, Rico Nasty, and TiaCorine.”Pound Town” might be her breakthrough moment, but real (dread) heads know that Sexyy Red has been putting in work for a long time. She first turned heads with her gender-flipped remixes of songs like Three 6 Mafia’s “Slob On My Knob” (“Slob On My Ckat“) and Tay-K’s “I Love My Choppa” (“I Love My Nickel“), showing off her knack for crisp turns-of-phrase and eye-popping and viscerally frank bars. Her inventive visuals for songs like “Throwin It” and “Sexyy,” from her 2021 mixtape Ghetto Superstarhelped her build a following on Instagram (307k followers), YouTube (67.5k subscribers), and Twitter (139.4k followers).Sexyy Red hype reached a fever pitch in the Fall, when she collaborated with Summer Walker on “Sense Dat God Gave You” and with fellow sex positive diva Sukihana on “Born By The River.” Built around a flip of a famous Sam Cooke lyric, the latter song was an impressive statement, earning a glowing review in Pitchfork and prompting an Instagram follow from Drake.


About the Author

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑