Music Lounge

Published on May 13th, 2019 | by Guest Contributor


Pell – Too Much Of A Good Thing

London UK, May 10th, 2019 – After ‘Floating While Dreaming’ and ‘LIMBO’, his first two projects, NOLA-bred lyricist and producer Pell is returning home with his debut album, ‘Gravity’, due out June 21. The highly-anticipated, 13-track album announcement is accompanied by the release of the project’s second single entitled ‘Too Much Of A Good Thing’.

Drawing inspiration from two of his previous project covers, ‘Gravity’ proves an inevitable gravitational return to Pell’s New Orleans, proving his new album serves as the final installment of his trio series of releases including his previous projects‘LIMBO’ EP (2015) and ‘Floating While Dreaming’ mixtape (2014). Pell describes ‘Gravity’ as being his most ‘emo of the trio’ explaining that he has seen exponential grown as a human since his last musical release, using music as therapy and proving his debut album to be very interpersonal and symbolic of that which was happening in his life.

Directed by Miles & AJ and produced by Grammy-winning Los Angeles producer Rahki (most known for ‘Institutionalized’ by Kendrick Lamar, ‘Insecurities’ by Syd, ‘Happy Birthday’ by Mac Miller, and more), who also previously worked with Pell on the ‘chirpin’ record from his 2017 project, the ‘girasoul’ EP, Pell kicked off 2019 with the release of ‘Bitch Ass’, which speaks to themes of self-empowerment, self-love and to always chase your dreams.

Since taking the industry by storm in 2014, the electric New Orleans native, Pell, born Jared Pellerin, has continued to expand his sound and musicality. His stellar Floating While Dreaming’ mixtape garnered attention and praise from press across the board, including FADER, Billboard, XXL, Complex, among others.

Pell linked with NGHTMRE for Magic Hour’ EP, releasing through Mad Decent in June 2018. Co-produced by Pell, ‘Hear Me,’ was featured on Madden 19’s soundtrack. Rounding out 2018, Pell was featured on XXL’s What I Do, where the artist was praised for his skillful freestyle, along with accompanying Doja Cat on her Amala Tour. Recently, Pell shared the stage with Brasstracks on their Vibrant Spring Tour alongside Kemba and was featured on their recent track ‘Vibrant’ from their latest project. He also recently linked with Great Good Fine Ok for their latest single ‘Terrified’.

‘Gravity’ TRACKLIST:

  1. Intro
  2. Petrichor
  3. Skyfall ft. Ambré Perkins, Malik Ninetyfive, Icon
  4. Bitch Ass
  5. Pass By
  6. Rotation
  7. Show Me ft. VÉRITÉ
  8. Too Much of a Good Thing
  9. Sip
  10. LowBatt
  11. Too Bad
  12. House Call
  13. NOLA Grown ft. PJ Morton

Download / Stream ‘Too Much Of A Good Thing’ here:







About the Author

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑