Rhyme Report Killer Mike

Published on October 19th, 2023 | by Just Jay


Killer Mike Lets ‘Michael’ Hit Vinyl and CD and Drops Video for ‘Yes’

Killer Mike releases Michael on Vinyl & CD for the first time; shares video for new song “Yes


Killer Mike has just released the definitive version of his acclaimed 2023 album MICHAEL DELUXE on 2xLP vinyl, CD, and digital. The album – now expanded to 17 tracks on the physical editions and 18 tracks digitally – arrives alongside a video for the new song “YES”.

The album details were announced last week with the release of “Maynard Vignette,” a huge multi-generational Atlanta anthem with features from T.I., JID, and Jacquees, with Mike explaining that “MICHAEL was originally longer and now we’re starting to release the rest of it.

These songs are some of my favorites from the album sessions, but we needed more time to get them the way we imagined them. We finished three of them in time to make the vinyl and one more for the digital.”

Killer Mike hosted a global album celebration party for his fans on his YouTube channel on the eve of the album last night where he premiered WHAT MADE MICHAEL (A Conversation with Elliott Wilson), a mini-doc where he breaks down his album and gives fans a guided tour of his upbringing in Atlanta, followed by the premiere of the music video for his new single “YES.” Mike also joined Anthony Valadez and KCRW for a special evening at Apogee Studio in Los Angeles that aired as a Morning Becomes Eclectic session yesterday to celebrate the release (watch it here).

Mike recently hosted a Record Store Revival at Rough Trade NYC, an in-conversation event moderated by Carrie Colliton (Co-President of Record Store Day) followed by an album signing event for fans in attendance. The conversation from the event livestreamed via his and Rough Trade’s YouTube + META platforms so that his fans around the world could join.

MICHAEL was executive produced by No ID and released via Loma Vista Recordings, with a roster of features spanning multiple eras of rap, including Andre 3000, Future, Young Thug, Ty Dolla $ign, Curren$y, 6LACK, EL-P, Blxst, Eryn Allen Kane, and more (full tracklist below).

The album has been heralded as “a complex portrait of Southern Black masculinity” for its holistic portrayal of Michael’s come up in Atlanta – from his inauspicious start being raised by his Grandmother, to his plainspoken and empathetic detailing of his teenage girlfriend’s unwanted pregnancy, to his years selling drugs to folks with whom he felt a deep human connection, to aspiring to and achieving rap stardom in the face of his own self-doubts.

Since its release and subsequent touring Mike has interfaced with countless fans, from Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium to New York’s Apollo Theatre to Chicago’s Pitchfork Festival, to the Clive Davis Theater in the GRAMMY Museum in Los Angeles, who have been deeply moved and enriched by his relatable working class story of perseverance, responsibility, and community.

Mike and the album have been a cultural fixture throughout the year, with accolades including two BET Awards nominations for “SCIENTISTS & ENGINEERS” (in the IMPACT TRACK and SWEET 16 FEATURED VERSE categories) as well as features and nods from the New York Times, Billboard, Esquire, The Breakfast Club, Sway in the Morning, Vulture, SPIN, Idea Generation, and many, many more.

Stream / Purchase MICHAEL DELUXE https://lnk.killermike.com/deluxe

Watch the video for “YES”


Watch the video for “Maynard Vignette (ft. T.I., JID, & Jacquees)”


Watch the visualizer for “SCIENTISTS & ENGINEERS (ft. Andre 3000 and Future)”


Watch the video for “DON’T LET THE DEVIL (ft. EL-P & thankugoodsir)”


>Watch the video for “MOTHERLESS (ft. Eryn Allen Kane)”


Watch the video for “TALK’N THAT SHIT!”


Watch the video for “RUN (ft. Young Thug)”



1. Down By Law (ft. CeeLo Green)
2. Shed Tears (ft. Mozzy & Lena Byrd Miles)
3. RUN (ft. Young Thug)
4. N Rich (ft. 6LACK & Eryn Allen Kane)
5. Talk’n That Shit!
6. Slummer (ft. Jagged Edge)<
7. Scientists & Engineers (ft. Andre 3000, Future, & Eryn Allen Kane)
8. Two Days (ft. Ty Dolla $ign)
9. Spaceship Views (Curren$y, 2 Chainz, Kaash Paige)
10. Exit 9 (ft. Blxst)
11. Something For Junkies (ft. Fabo)
12. Motherless (ft. Eryn Allen Kane)
13. Don’t Let The Devil (ft. EL-P & thankugoodsir)
14. High And Holy (ft. Ty Dolla $ign)

New Tracks:

15. Yes
16. Maynard Vignette (ft. T.I., JID, & Jacquees)
17. Get Some Money
18 Act Up (ft. Young Nudy) *digital only

Tags: , , , ,

About the Author

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑